Do you agree that modern technology has given us more leisure time than before?

Throughout the history of mankind, it is true that no century witnessed more progress in technology than the 20th century did. Moreover, there is no doubt that living in the era of technological revolution make people around the world become increasingly interested in discovering the correlation between technological development and leisure time. In my opinion, while I agree that the development of technology has saved us more time on dozens of tasks, the busyness of human cannot be verified that its will stop in the foreseeable future.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that technology is ubiquitous and more comfortable nowadays. Thanks to modern technology, life has become faster, easier and more convenient. To illustrate, we can clearly see that Google has saved our time searching for information as well as Facebook has saved our time on social interactions. Similarly, Amazon, Tiki and Fahasa save very much time on delivering products so we can have a product in our hands with just a few clicks. It stands to the reason that technology can do extraordinary things for time-saving and take care of more and more problems so that we would have one less chore to consider.

On the other hand, people’s leisure lives have been contracted because of the ubiquity of higher technological tools such as smart phones and laptops with internet access make people available for their superiors wherever they go. For this reason, humans are more engaged in everyday processes than ever before. Furthermore, while modern technology makes us have more free time, it also makes the pace of life much quicker, which drives us to work harder. Because of the competition and fears of the loss of job, people are giving up their leisure times for educational opportunities with a school of thought that its might help deal with the quickness of life. It seems that the time budget is burned and more time should be invested in education for the reason that keeping up the speed of technological development. Therefore, using technology to improve efficiency and save time leads to high productively, people would rather do more job and do more relaxation.

In a conclusion, although the effectiveness of technology has brought more time in every aspect of life, we cannot deny the fact that humans seem busier than ever.