The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to control violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this action?

Throughout the history of mankind, it is true that violence has been a part of television and movies for as long as television and films have existed in many recent decades. Nevertheless, its impact on every aspect of life brings much controversial debate with regard to the level of media violence should be restricted. In my opinion, I totally agree the idea that the government should take reasonable method to deal with media violence.

On the one hand, there are several positive sides of TV and movie violence. The first reason to support it is that through watching violence on television programs and films, people can learn very much knowledge about the world. Some movies, for example, contain some disadvantaged components based on violent thing for the justification that reflecting actual picture in real-life. Moreover, those violent programs can be used as part of education for the citizens of a nation, which help audiences gain an understanding about criminal offends. They can, therefore, better prepare for finding solutions in their real-life if they are encountering similar situation such as school violence or family violence.

On the other hand, there is no doubt that many people have been concerned about the possible negative effects of media violence on human. The primary’s reason is that broadcast violence may cause aggressive or criminal behaviors in people’mind, especially in youth. One particularly salient instance for this argument is an article having been published by The New York Time Magazine indicating that young kids are likely to imitate the heroes they saw in a movie, who have been engaging in more physical violence in recent year. It stands to the reason that young teens might think it is quietly cool to carry the automatic weapons and use it as a way to knock down the bad guys.

Furthermore, if someone saw much more violence in broadcasting or movies, it could desensitize them to real action in their life. In short, it could cause people to be apathetic to follow violent acts, even it’s worse, they might consider violence as an effective method of solving conflicts in their whole-life.

In conclusion, although there are some advantaged reasons accounting for media violence, I still believe that ministry should regulate and monitor violent contents in TV and movies in order to reduce the crimes rates.