Although the parent is the child's first teacher, it does not necessarily follow that the parent is the child's best teacher. A parent may be ineffective at communicating important lessons to a child, either by precept or by example.

To illustrate, imagine a negligent mother does not bother to teach her children about dangers involved with electricity, fire, or household chemicals. Unaware of those dangers, a child may be seriously injured or even killed, and may cause injury or death to others as well. Someone else would have made a better teacher for the child and thus prevented tragic consequences.

In another hypothetical case, a parent may fail to instruct a child in the dangers of drugs. The child becomes involved with drugs and experiences trouble both in school and with health.

There is also the possibility that a parent will deliberately instruct a child in some dangerous practice, attitude, or philosophy. A child who is taught to be hate persons of a different race or nationality may grow up to be a very dangerous person. One therefore should not presume that parents are always the best teachers. Sometimes, they are the worst teachers a child might have.