Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the importance of the role which extended family played in the traditional society. A controversial question which is raised in this area is what factors lead to a substantial change in today's families? Some people believe that the extended family currently exist; however, I disagree. I believe that urban lifestyle, small flats, and technological advancements caused a fundamental change in the family structure, which is now is very small, without the extended members of the family.

First and foremost, it is established beyond doubt that the primary reason for the decline of extended families is urban life. These days people live in small flats in the different part of the city. Based on the proximity to the work location, people choose their apartment. Financial barriers are more significant in the selection of the people as well. In the past people would work together in most cases; also, the scale of the city was very tiny. On the other hand, today cities are expanded uncontrollably; as a result, individuals live iv various parts of the city far from their relatives.

The other equally significant reason which I like to present is the effects of advances in technology which makes the extended families obsolete. Noteworthy social research which was conducted in our country indicates that with the introduction of the video calls, people are less inclined to have face to face meetings with family members. They assert that busy lifestyle enforces them to be satisfied with the skype chats.

Last but not least, the modern lifestyle makes people think about themselves frequently. Although in the past people could make the weekends free for visiting the family member, today majority of the individuals work at the weekend to obtain more money.

To sum up, considering all the mentioned reasons, I think it is crystal clear that todays' lifystyle is completely different with the traditional ones. Modern lifestyle, busy work conditions, financial bariers are among the most evident reasons that make extended families out of date.