Do you agree or disagree with the statement that the government should invest more money in science education rather than other subjects to develop the country?

It is argued that government should allocate more money on science rather than any other subject in order to promote the development of a country. While I believe that investment in science teaching is beneficial and even vital, I think that it should not be prioritized over other subjects because each has its own significance and merits.

On the one hand, I agree that spending on science teaching makes enormous contributions to the country’s growth. Firstly, equipping youngsters with more knowledge about science and technology can lead to the inventions of many state-of-the-art devices. Therefore, a nation can become more prosperous and its citizens will lead a more comfortable life. For example, in Vietnam, a high school student created the first agrimotor, thanks to what he had learned in his physics class, saving labour for farmers and boosting agricultural productivity. Secondly, no one can deny the contributions of artificial intelligence, taught in some scientific universities, which creates robots and programs to replace people in risky tasks such as space exploration or natural energy exploitation.

On the other hand, other subjects are also important, so government needs to invest in them too. For example, language teaching is essential to help students learn and use different languages for international communication. Because we are living in a global village, helping students master other languages can contribute to promoting international trade and relations. Furthermore, civic education, albeit not a science subject, can educate young students about their social responsibilities, so that they will grow to be better citizens. As a result, the country can reduce social evils such as crime, which is a fundamental factor to building a healthy society.

In conclusion, despite the importance and obvious benefits of science education, I believe that government should balance their spending across all school subjects.