Does nature or nurture form a person 's personality?

It is always argued whether nature or nurture is the main determinant to form one’s personality. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly believe nurture plays the key role in the development of individuals.

At the outset, the environment is unintentionally the fundamental foundation which can exert a profound impact on children’s cognitive development. There is no denying that children are highly likely to unconsciously emulate adults’ behaviors and gradually instill in their mind their parents’ thoughts and beliefs even if they are inappropriate. For example, if a child has to regularly suffer from violence from their family members, in all probability, he or she will develop a propensity for violence at a young age. In addition to that, their family situation can also unintentionally mislead them to the wrong path. For instance, their economic hardships making it impossible for them to go to school will give them the chance to associate with bad people and turn to a career of crime.

Apart from that, the way children are deliberately brought up is also regarded as the most crucial factor which shapes their identities. Initially, environment is the cradle which can find and develop children’s talents. Their natural unique traits need to be nurtured and fostered by means of the education at home and schools, which not only help them not lose it but also utilize it to achieve incredible feats. Furthermore, how they are educated can make them get rid of their bad characteristics and amend their weaknesses. Being well-educated, they will be capable of distinguishing good and bad deeds to protect and develop themselves in the most positive way to become a global citizen.

To recapitulate, I strongly believe individuals’ personality is built by how they are raised.