Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

Skills do not only come from reading books; yet, they can be developed through active indoor and outdoor participation. Some studies also suggested that by exercising this activity, children can ameliorate their skills and creativity. In this point, I am a strong advocate of the study result considering insufficiency of books to provide necessary elements helping children to grow their skills faster.

While I know that reading can supply children with much knowledge, practical activities can encourage them to develop skills faster. By remaining active, children can encounter real challenges, which sometimes are not written in books. Even if so, reading books seems to solely train our memory, not a real practice to perform our skills. To illustrate, A child who is avid of reading books for improving his skills cannot practically perform skills which have already been perused. In contrast, a kid who just practices a skill without having read a book for a specific skill can show a better result. This, according a research, is natural as by practicing, all muscles and nerves in our body work simultaneously, enabling a better synchronisation of all body parts.

Moreover, a real activity allows children to be more creative. Not like books that only furnish children with myriad texts and theory, doing a fun activity will let them encounter a specific problem. However, parents are too concerned if their kids face a problem, in which engenders the potency brought by the problem to underpin their children’s development. In fact, this unexpected situation can, instead, push them to figure out how to solve the problem and then indirectly, will grow their creativity. In many cases, books, otherwise, disallow children from possessing this advantage.

All in all, despite all benefits offered by practical activities, I strongly recommend that children be accompanied by parents or adults while attempting to apply skills. Without a helpful guide, children will not be able to benefit optimally from doing a physical activity.