Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

It is undoubtedly true that several nations these days witnessed the emergence of the supermarket at breakneck speed, thereby, forcing local, small-scale businesses into the brink of bankruptcy as it is impossible for them to compete. From my perspective, the mass closure of local companies and shops irrefutably results in the corruption of the local communities themselves due to various reasons.

To begin with, there is a variety of explanations to support the idea that mass store closing is synonymous with terminating the communities associated with it. The fundamental reason is that local shops or companies are reportedly the main consumers of indigenous commodities. It does not seem unreasonable to suggest that numerous products created by the locals, especially victuals or disposable goods, can only be sold in the local stores because of the difficulty in transportation and packaging. Therefore, the introduction of massive supermarkets, which eventually lead to the downfall of local brands, pushed thousands of people in this particular area into poverty and undernourishment. By the way of exemplifying, the organic agricultural products introduced in international supermarket franchise are attributed to the unmarketable vegetables of peasants in various countrysides who are unable to follow strict farming progress due to the insufficient finance

Nevertheless, one could claim that local supplies can also be straightforwardly provided in these supermarkets. I found no justification to support this statement since maintaining the uniformity among supermarket chains can be considered as the prerequisite and, consequently, the scenario that local products are being sold at these buildings seem to be just wishful thinking. Furthermore, the majority of commodities at the supermarket are purchased in large quantities with a preferential price. Then, it is unlikely that local products can compete to them by any means

In conclusion, I firmly agree that the closure of local stores will bring about the death of local communities since many indigenous products can only be sold in these businesses.