Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, at every corner you can see chain supermarkets. Although there are many of them, they are full of the people. Most of the people feel freedom while they are in these supermarkets. However, local groceries cannot compete with them. People buy small things such as water, newspapers or only one or two pieces of their total needs.

Supermarkets provide variety number of products. People can find several brands of one product. They can compare the prices, and they can buy the one they exactly want. Most of the people like having options and choose one of them. In addition, people can find different type of products which they can find in different type of groceries. It is very difficult to buy deli, fruits, vegetables, meat products and cleaning product in one grocery. People have to go different place to buy them.

Supermarkets provide good opportunities in economical way. There are some campaigns in supermarkets and people can buy the product in very cheap prices. There are some people who follows these campaigns and buy the product. Some chain supermarkets sell their own branded products which are cheaper than the others. Discount stores provide good advantages to the people.

This kind of advantages make supermarkets more powerful against local groceries. Similarly, other local business have some difficulties to compete. Since the world is changing, local businesses should also change. They can focus niche segments and home-made products instead of mass products. Some people loves home-made products and they prefer this kind of products instead of the ones on the market shelf. In addition, local businesses have to adopt themselves due to changing conditions. They have to have a website, a store in e-marketplaces and courier services.

To conclude, world is changing and this change brings some responsibilities to business owners. There are more competition compering to the past. Due to these facts, people are transforming their businesses. Although local groceries have some disadvantages compering to supermarkets, they should be in commercial life to keep diversity and variety. If they find their niche markets, if they transform business they can adapt the changing conditions.