Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skill. Do you agree or disagree?

Even though students at a certain level of education require practical skills, some schooling systems concentrate their efforts and time to learn facts rather than give students the possibility to develop their knowledge to practice activities outside classrooms. Although it is important to spend time on learning facts, it should be not forgotten that scholars must learn how to apply their knowledge in some practical areas.

Firstly, I would say that schools have to provide to every student the opportunity to practice their knowledge in certain areas. I have the experience to work in a company that produces mobile terminals and I was involved in a special program where some universities include a subject for their undergraduate students where they practice all their knowledge in many fields. The program includes plenty of options available for any students. They just need to do a small test to ensure they would join the correct area in the company. We have been getting good results and now the program has been implemented in more universities. This is an important step on getting enough practical skills before joining a real job.

Secondly, it is important to mention that more often companies are looking for young students that can potentially join them once their programs are concluded. However, companies need to ensure that universities allow students to combine their learning facts skills with practical skills. For that reason they are very active in getting the best candidates to support their needs and ensure that they will be enrolled aiming to succeed in their professional career in combination with companies strategies.

In summary, learning practical skills are very important for any educational system and it is impacting positively our society and bringing more young experienced people in many areas. This of course facilitates that companies can get the right persons in field but also benefits universities to develop their educational programs. As this essay has shown, educational systems need to move quickly from learning facts to learning practical skills.