Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring?

What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed

A zoo is one of the most popular places that people go to learn about animals. Not only can you see lively animals up-close, but also you can learn about their natural habitat. However, I believe that zoos should be closed because there is a controversy about maintaining zoos for following reasons: how people in a zoo treat the animals is unethical, and maintaining zoos costs money.

First, I’d like to discuss that zoos should be closed because how people in a zoo treat the animals is not ethical. Although they try to create an environment that is best for each animal, they often fail to breed the animals in a naturalistic environment that resembles a wild life. Animals would have a hard time adjusting into the new environment they are brought to. Moreover, baby animals that are born in a zoo are likely to lose their innate ability to survive, such as competency for hunting or migrating. Therefore, zoos should not continue their business because it is highly unethical.

Second, I would argue that maintaining zoos cost money. Multiple researches show that it costs a significant amount in order to keep a zoo running throughout a year. That is because of the nature of breeding different kind of animals takes a lot of effort. The food has to be fresh and nutritious, and the environment they live in needs to mimic their natural habitat. Hygiene needs to be well taken care of, in order to combat any infectious diseases. Hence, I believe zoos should be closed because it is a mare financial burden for us.

As stated above, I believe zoos should not be maintained as it is unethical to take animals away from their natural habitat, and breed them in a cage, and we simply cannot afford to maintain zoos. Alternative to zoos can be a virtual reality, where you can experience realistic view of wild animals at home.