Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

Recently there has been a popular opinion suggesting that zoos should be closed for its purposeless existence. In my opinion, I believe that these sites pose great threats to animals and there are several substitutes that can solve the problems that zoos bring.

As almost all of the zoo animals are wild creatures, zoo environment would cause adverse effects on these animals, both physically and mentally. Firstly, since zoos are normally constructed inside cities or urban areas, the animals have to inhabit in small and enclosed surroundings. As a result, these animals supposedly living in the jungles cannot freely move or run around, which would deteriorate their immune systems and make them more prone to illnesses and diseases. In addition, noise pollution caused by traffic, constructions and human are conducive to animals’ mental disorder like anxiety and nervousness. These disorders are proved by scientists to be factors affecting animals’ reproduction cycle. When in long exposure to such detrimental habitat, these wild animals may be in danger of extinction.

To tackle these problems, governments should shut down zoos and utilize nature reserves as well as various forms of media to educate people about animals. First of all, nature reserves or conservative parks are generally set up in rural areas where there is few buildings or homes. Wildlife creatures are then allowed to inhabit in considerably more spacious and diverse living environment, thus having more chances of growing healthily. Furthermore, these rural area parks being far away from metropolitans would create a tranquil landscape for fragile animals. Another good idea is that governments create animal discovery programs on a variety of media, so that people can learn about the ecosystem from distance. For example, in the USA, there are channels like Discovery channel on television and radio produced for the learning purpose of students.

In conclusion, zoos do a serious amount of harm to wild animals and appropriate steps need to be taken to alter the bad impacts of zoos.