Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, parents are constantly thinking on how their children should dedicate their free time. Thus, they have been pushing them to join certain group activities available in the community and others think that they need to learn by themselves. This essay will analyze both sides and give some perspective of the benefits that children can get.

Firstly, local governments have assigned a big portion of their annual budgets to children’s activities. They have built new facilities where children can join different kinds of activities, such as ballet, music and indoor-football. Therefore, parents need to encourage their children to join these activities where they will have the opportunity to meet other children and get good health.

Secondly, due to the current pandemic crises, children are not allowed to join group activities, therefore parents have been pushing their children to spend their time on home books and the internet to increase their knowledge in certain areas, such as cooking and baking. People do not agree with this, because they believe children need to be in contact with others; however, with the current situation, this would be possible in the near future. Thus, the benefits for that are that they can feel useful and actually, they can start their own business in the future.

In summary, parents need to explore different ways on how to keep their children busy during their free time. It should be either allowing them to join their preference on group activities or allowing them to increase their knowledge by their own using different tools. My point of view is that group activities benefit children in many aspects and help them to meet more people. Thus, governments need to assign a budget to children and create more facilities for joint activities.