Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Supermarkets have dominant many countries in the world, whereas, many regional small grocery shops and other businesses are out of business. A number of people believe that the shutdown of community businesses will cause the disappearance of a local group of people. This essay completely agrees with the statement. I believe that the owners of supermarkets should select the area out of the city where they cannot affect the local business.

Supermarket items are normally expensive which cant be afforded by a middle-class person, however, residents prefer buying their daily base grocery stuff from small shops as they normally sell the items on credit as well. In addition, the items which are sold by supermarkets are higher in price comparing to the items sold on individual shops due to the fact that supermarkets price includes rentals and other expenses of the market as well. In the contrast, small local business shops maintain their margin profit merely low. For example, A big supermarket does not allow its customers to take groceries on credit, on the contrary, small local shop facilitates their customers to take groceries on credit

Apart from that, these supermarkets can attract the old and regular customers of the small community shops and this act definitely will affect small business owners. Nevertheless, supermarkets do also provide offers/sales on events which is a great tact to lure the customers from local businesses, and in this way, it is very difficult to survive for the local business community.

In conclusion, it's a moral duty of the local government to allow supermarkets to run their business in an area where it shall not affect the small business owners and then only the small business will be able to thrive.