Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of the local business will bring about the death of the local communities

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of supermarkets are extended in some countries and this is a threat to the small local supermarkets. Some argue that if this is lingering, local businesses will close and lead to the end of local communities. Personally, I totally agree with this opinion and I will discuss it in the essay below.

On the one hand, I accept that there are some benefits of the expansion of supermarkets. Supermarkets sell everything and people can buy easily. For example, Costco is one of the big supermarkets in the US that sell everything such as medicines, electronics, furniture, appliances, jewelry, and food. Therefore, if you want to buy many things, you just need to go to the supermarket and buy it in alternative sections. As a result, people can save time. Moreover, supermarkets usually have discounts and things sold there will be cheaper than the local business.

On the other hand, with the development of supermarkets, the local businesses can close and cause the death of local communities. Most of the local businesses are opened by the local residents. Moreover, it is also a place where many residents work. Therefore, when the local businesses have to close due to the extension of supermarkets, it will become a serious issue for residents and communities. One of them is the local people will lose their job and some owners of the local business will lose their big income. Besides, it is a burden for local communities when trying to tackle the unemployment rate.

In conclusion, I believe that the local businesses can face closure and it can affect the local communities, and they should have some measures to let both can develop.