With the effect of globalization economies and business trends in many countries have changed dramatically. Shopping malls or one stop shop concept is a good example for one such development. Now, more and more of these types of shops have become popular and every junction of cities or villages has one or more of them. Most of the customers also get attracted to them saying that those places are more convenient places to buy things and able to save time. However, local vendors have become so disappointed about the development. They are afraid of disappearing their businesses and local manufacturers, as they cannot compete with the huge investment done by large businesses. In my opinion, large scale businesses are serious threat to the small scale local traders, unless they change their business strategies.

Firstly, supermarkets are in a position to offer many varieties of products. They sale from a thing of a safety pin to, day to day commodities to, office furniture and electrical appliances and many more. If, a person goes to a supermarket of Arpico or Keels, he can buy food that he needs to have a party tonight and his favorite fragrance from same shop without wasting time. On the other hand, local traders cannot give that much of variety for their customers and sell limited number of products from few manufacturers. However, as customers want to buy all they want from one shop, local businesses at serious threat to attracting persons.

Secondly, shopping malls have integrated the technology to upgrade their businesses. Shoppers can use electronic weighing scales to weigh the vegetables or fruits. They can use credit cards to settle bills. Further, many business report have shown that on line business facilities have dramatically increased their sales. Nowadays, more and more people are interest in such reliable and safe transactions instead carrying money in their purses to settle transactions. Nevertheless, most local vendors so far unable to incorporated such technology to boost their businesses. Open market vegetable vendor or a grocery owner may far more behind such developments.

In conclusion, globalization has opened the gates of country’s economy and brought many quality and better services, as well as many disadvantages. Local businesses and manufacturers are under severe threat in continuing their businesses. Local traders must change with the technology to compete with multinational players.