Nowadays, media is an important part in human life from a small child to elderly person. People use this media to get information, knowledge and pleasure as well. Compared to traditional media such as newspapers and radio, people seem spend more time with high tech electronic media such as television, internet, video games and movies. Apart from advantages associated with media it has some drawbacks too. Due to the recent reports of mass shooting and gun violence, the question that quickly comes to mind is whether this aggressive behavior in society could a consequent of violent media. Although, some people argue that it is a controversial issue, in my opinion this has direct relationship to each other and reasons as follows.

To start with, now more and more media programs use violence in their main theme. While, television programs have accelerated its’ events on action or rough behaviors including prime time programs, more movies also produced on shooting and fighting topics. On the other hand, school children spend more time with these media than with parents or school. Therefore, when they watch these programs repeatedly, children might tend to practice them their own. It is not a surprise that kid, who watches a wrestling video, may imitate a man that rewarded for aggressive behavior. Child might first do it with his toy and then do it for a friend.

In addition, most media have promoted the violence as an acceptable event. Persons in society might learn this as normal, because a child who plays action video game does kicking and killing with delight and a hero in a movie use to beat or threaten to control his opponents. Then, people also use aggressive behavior to solve their day to day problems, thinking that attain violence might bring benefit some time. Another aspect associated with this trend is desensitization of the community. People may not come forward against injustice due to phobia in violence.

In conclusion, media may not the sole reason for violence in society. But it plays an important role. Parents should attend more to their children to see what they do, while media authorities should have a social responsibility to inspect the social effect of their programs.