Sponsoring sport is a vast field in commercial advertising today. It is no more considered a non profit business or charity work as it was in the past. Many sport and non sport based businesses are competing each other to get the sponsorship of several popular games and sport stars. Nowadays it is very hard to find any famous game or player without a sponsor. While, large economically sound companies eye on for global sport events, national or school games are covered by medium or small sized businesses with the intention of promoting products or services at international and home community level respectively. It is quite common to see that national players wear Jerseys or sport kits with iconic logos of certain companies at all level of these players' games. Furthermore some companies allocate millions of money on exclusive advertising to maintain their name in the field of business as well as sport, while similar recognition get a sport person when sponsored by many companies at similar time period. However, people have divided among their opinion regarding sponsoring sport and some people argue that it is one of the most effective methods to promote company name and products, while others say it has a risk of irreversible damage to the name of business.

To start with, investing money on sports or sport persons by private enterprises have mutual benefit for all groups. The advantages that company getting include, ability to promote their product to a large number of population, highlighted them away from their competitors and enhancing the company image among public so on. For an example if a company get an opportunity to involve in game like Olympic, they get a chance to display the services of company for almost three fourths of world population and if the product is repeatedly displayed to become a house hold name. Many companies have experienced acceleration of their sales by many folds after sponsoring games which had wider media cover. Therefore companies are able to earn more money compared to the amount they spent. On the other hand sport also getting benefited by receiving adequate money for infrastructure development or well being of players. Younger players are getting feeling of financial security when they notice the fame and money accomplish by their senior star players. These are the most common and significant benefits that either group of sport persons or company can get.

However, there are some disadvantages also can associate with this as any thing in this world is not without risk. One of the major risk is deterioration of the performance of sport that company help. If sport person or sport field that company is supporting do not perform well, some time audience blame to sponsoring group also. In addition, if the sport player is involved in bad behavior like drug abuse, this can affect to brand name too. Another two situations that company money get wasted are when player is get injured or sick and had to leave the sport prematurely or poor media coverage for sports.

In conclusion, sponsoring sport is a well advanced and organized field today. It gives many benefits to companies as well as sports. Drawbacks associated with this field is negligible as they can occur only once in a way. Thus it is the duty of the sport authorities to maintain the quality of the sport to get more attraction by private sector.