It has been noted that rising number of companies are competing each other to sponsor popular sports around the world, with the aim of promoting their company name and products to more number of people. They sponsor individual sport stars to sport team or sport events of global interest and get opportunities to print company logo on players' jerseys, display banners or products at on site or receive an acknowledgement at sport event. While, economically sound larger companies looking for exclusive sponsorships to show their company image to the world, similar reputation get by individual players when they sponsored by several companies in one time. However, people are divided on their opinion regarding sponsoring sports and some people argue that it is one of the most effective way of promoting business products or services among people, others point out that there is a risk of irreversible damage to the company profile unexpectedly.

To start with, it is worth to note that sponsoring sports gives mutual benefits to both parties. While, company get a golden opportunity to access to wider number of audience and increase their sales, sports get a chance to use that money to develop infrastructure and help their junior players financially. For an example, Hyundai Company who was a main sponsor of last world cup cricket match invested billions of money to get the chance, and recorded an accelerated rate of sales turn over after the series. On the other hand, international cricket committee used larger portion of received money to develop cricket in low income countries. In addition to catch larger number, when company names are repeatedly appear on popular sports, they will become the house hold names in society. All these factors show that funding sport is no more a non profit or charitable work.

Opponents for this view show that sponsoring sport is not a fool proof method to promote commercial goods. If, the player or the team that company is backing unable to perform well, it can badly effect on the sale. Some players can get sick or injured at the peak of the season and money invested by company becomes a waste. A larger damage could be face by company, if players are involved in illegal things such as consumption of performance enhancing drugs. Some people say that money can damage the spirit of the sport and players may involve in match fixing even. Many cricketers are blamed for this type of incidences and two Australian cricketers had to leave the team due to such involvement.

In conclusion, sponsoring sport is a vast industry today. It has given many advantages to sports as well as companies. Disadvantages associated with this field are negligible and not very common as well. However, it is the duty of the players to maintain quality of the game without caught into scandals.