Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Small business are not able to take competition with the increasing number of developed supermarkets in some countries. It is thought by some that local communities will be near to death as a result of the extinction of private business. In my opinion, the absence of local business will not bring local communities to death while it can cause some problems to them.

Local communities may not disappear due to the extinction of local business. People can communicate and meet each other in other places such as bars and recreation centers. Furthermore people from local communities easily can buy necessary products and groceries from big supermarkets. In additional, they may spend there their free time, as modern supermarkets offer people places for leisure activities. Moreover modern supermarkets have delivery services, through them people can order needful products.

On the other hand, people will go less to the neighborhoods if there is no small shops, bakehouse or coffee shops as a result people will not communicate with their neighbors on a daily basis and will not be able to get to know new comers. Furthermore, streets can become empty and boring without local businesses. People can face some problems if they need to buy special product urgently. For instance, during the cooking process any person can realize that he does not have a salt and it would not be too fast to get it as he should go far to nearest supermarket or order it through delivery service.

In conclusion, people may face some problems due to absence of small business but it will not cause the extinction of local communities.