Education for young people is important in many countries. However, some people think that the government should spend more money on the education for the adult population who cannot read and write. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Despite warnings by healthcare experts and scientists, the consumption of junk food has been on the rise in many parts of the world. Many posit education as the panacea for this problem, while others say that such a measure will not yield results, and I agree.

Granted, one might argue that education is efficacious in curbing the high consumption of junk food. This is predicated on the assumption that many fast-food eaters are simply not aware of the health risks associated with their dietary choices. According to this theory, if they are better informed about how susceptible they are to diet-related problems such as obesity and cardiovascular disease, they may avoid eating fast food altogether. However, this line of reasoning is not sound as many people simply do not have a choice but to eat fast food due to their financial hardship. Even if they are cognizant of the dangers involved, they cannot afford more salubrious foods, which generally cost more significantly than a meal at Mc Donald’s or KFC.

Other reasons to question the efficacy of education are related to people’s fast-paced lifestyles and the bombardment of advertisements. Most working people, even those in the field of healthcare themselves, often find it difficult to spare enough time to cook for themselves and their families. They tend to resort to readily-made meals or processed food, whereas their children are left to eat at will. These youngsters’ obvious choice is fast food because of its tastiness and convenience. Furthermore, the impact of awareness-raising campaigns pales in comparison with that of the overwhelming number of adverts that often exaggerate the deliciousness of fast food through pictures and videos. Were education to be efficacious, an unimaginable sum of money would be required to offset the effects of advertising.

In conclusion, using education to curb the increasingly high consumption of fast food is an unwise course of action due to people’s lifestyles and the ubiquity of adverts.