Some people believe that to protect local culture, tourism should be banned in some areas whereas others think that change is inevitable and banning tourism will have no benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Of all the truisms about tourism, perhaps one of the truest is that it empowers people of different cultures to interact, learn, and evolve. However, this has led some to worry about local cultures disappearing as a result of such interaction. My stance is that a ban on tourism would not only yield no benefits but also fail to protect local cultures as a whole.

Granted, one might argue that by banning tourist activities in certain places, the traditions in these areas can be preserved. This is predicated on the assumption that with the presence of foreign travelers, local people may be negatively affected by foreign cultures, ways of life and languages. This means that they might reject their own ways of life and beliefs to adopt more exotic ones, thinking that these are more enlightened and modern. Without such interaction, perhaps they would not compare their traditions and beliefs to others’, hence preserving the culturally unique traditions of their areas.

However, this line of reasoning is not sound because the widespread use of the internet exposes local people to different facets of life. This means that stopping changes is inevitable, and a form of indoctrination would ensue if they are taken away their chances to learn by deliberately stopping them being exposed to foreign beliefs. Consequently, this would result in the loss of critical thinking, causing stultifying effects on the progress of a society. Furthermore, since tourism is a lucrative industry that employs a large number of people, a ban on tourism would result in many job and economic losses.

In conclusion, prohibiting foreign activities is an unwise proposal. This is because it would cause financial hardship for local people whose lives depend on the influx of holidaymakers.