A segment of society opines that prohibiting tourism may prevent cultural loss in some regions while others believe that it does not have any effects. This essay will further discuss both facets with appropriate examples then draw a logical conclusion.

People who favor banning tourism often point out that the duration of the prohibition allows local customs to revitalize. Taking some ethnic groups settling in the mountainous areas in the north of Vietnam as a prominent example. Supposing swarms of holidaymakers from China had not been banned from coming there, a large proportion of indigenous people would abandon their traditional weaving customs to find other jobs in order to provide tourist services now.

In certain areas, acculturation is good as it helps get rid of depraved costumes. Therefore, a legislation preventing the influx of tourists would even have no positive outcomes. In some regions in China, eating bats alive had been a norm until some western seeds and groceries were brought to the regions by tourists. Also, cultural assimilation helped mitigate gender inequality in Vietnam inasmuch as local young people learn how women were treated equitably from Europeans.

A paradigm shift to responsible tourism that takes a social aspect into account may effectively ameliorate the issue. By encouraging people to buy souvenirs from local stores, organizing some activities and lessons like learning how to make pottery, locals can generate money from tourism while preserving their cultural identities. Also, sustainable tourism development may make a destination more appealing to visitors because of its distinctive characteristic, thus bring in more money to the host country

To conclude, instead of banning, visitors should be allowed to draw to different places, but as a form of sustainable tourism.