Education for young people is important in many countries . However, the others think government should spend more money for education in adult population who can not read and write. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, opinions are divided whether government should allocate spending for education for the youth or adult stricken with illiteracy. While there are some reasons to support the view that national authority should care for the older ones, I think spending money for the youth is of fundamental importance.

On the one hand, there are several justifications why government budget should be diverted to illiterate elders’ education. First, if these adults are equipped with adequate knowledge, they can share the burdens of educating children with teachers. For example, when acquiring rudimentary command of Vietnamese, middle-aged citizens in Vietnam can cooperate with teachers in preparing and reviewing literary lessons with their kids when they are behind peers at primary school. Second, education lift people out of poverty and maintain the their well-being. In particular, higher literacy offers the elder who cannot read or write access to decent jobs that are not exposed to occupational hazards. Therefore, these individuals can earn sufficient income to cater for their demands and prevent themselves from contracting job-related diseases.

On the other hand, I believe that government’s fund plays a pivotal role in young people’s education in order to improve not only their talents but also their codes of conduct. From an academic perspective, doing so fosters a future proficient workforce capable of making huge contributions to the national development. In particular, after WW1, Japanese authority sent young students for overseas education and later received skilled labors in many fields including industry and economy. Consequently, in just 30 years, Japan had been developing from a war-torn country into a global leading nation.From an ethical perspective, education leads the youth to become law-abiding citizens.To be more specific, young individuals are not mature enough and are easily influenced and perpetuate law-offending behaviors. Thus, when instilled moral lessons via civic education classes, young students can distinguish between right and wrong and refrain from performing unlawful actions.

In conclusion, while there are some reasons to support adults in being literate, I agree with the notion that education is crucial to each country.