An effective health care system should encourage people to take preventive measures against illness and disease, rather than encourage them to rely on treatment. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

These days, health care institutions are thought to be the only places where people can find the antidote for their illnesses, as they provide a detailed examination and medication. However, some people oppose this idea and consider that the effectiveness of health systems should deal with the patient's willpower rather than create an addict for treatments.

On one hand, recent studies show that the mind is the healing tool in many diseases. Once told by someone we rely on that we are cured, we will start feeling healthy again. Therefore, as they have authority and credibility to the public, the healthcare systems should mould their patient to believe that pills and other drugs are not the only way of recovery. Thus, the immune system of the ill people will strengthen because it fights against the disease, and we will save considerable amounts of money. Moreover, we would not have to face crowded clinics as only the cases in acute or terminal conditions will be brought there.

On the other hand, having too much faith in self-healing and prevention could have a negative outcome for the medical world, but also yourself.

People could develop a carelessness for anything that refers to this domain. Hence, they will postpone a clinic examination due to the placebo effect and the so-believed results of an unprescribed treatment. Their state will worse until the moment neither pills nor surgery can save their life.

In conclusion, I believe that an effective health care system should encourage people to take preventive measures instead of relying on treatments, as these are pure chemicals and could put the patients' lives at risk. Nevertheless, doctors should also recommend an examination from an expert from time to time.