Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an argument that whether personal information should be considered in employment or not. From my viewpoint, I do think that this information could have employers to select suitable participants for their company, and further present a better work place

On the one hand, applicants may rightly feel these questions quite uncomfortable. Recruiters who ask questions about family background, sexual orientation or medical history is certainly violating ethical bounds. In this case, candidates may feel triggered or uncomfortable, there is a chance an interviewer would become a catalyst for metal health setback or result in the candidate deciding not to apply for the position. A hypothetical example of this that shows the potential harm is that if a LGBTQ candidate must continually disclose their orientation, and the workplace is traditional or homophobic, he or she may find themselves frustrated and feel unfairly discriminated against.

On the other hand, as long as inquires are within acceptable limits, these questions could aid interviewers in constructing an accurate picture of potential employees. Hobbies and interests like yoga or playing chess could reveal one part of your characteristic and personality, deciding whether applicant is suitable with company’s criteria or not. For example, yoga is one kind of sport that need to have persistence and flexibility and candidate taking yoga as a hobby would impress the recruiter that he or she could adapt to deadline or tricky problems and could find a sensible solution to adress it.

In conclusion, despite risks of causing offense, these questions still have value in forming a proper picture of candidates, leading to better selection for one important position.