Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Selecting the ideal employee for a particular job would become a challenging task for the managers. Some people believe that finding personal information or material status will help to decide their capabilities and their focus. However, others argue that it will not be useful to judge the person in an interview. Both sides of the controversy put forward rational arguments which will be elaborated.

To begin with, the predominant reason for the interviewer to ask for personal information is that it helps to get an idea about an individual’s interest and analytical abilities. This will be useful to decide whether that person is suitable for a job or not. For instance, knowing that a candidate is a good sports player would represent his ability to work with many team players. Furthermore, the extra personal data can make the management more considerate towards staffs’ circumstances. For example, at times the managers would delegate tasks that require staff’s presence at weekends to those without family commitments, thus being mindlessly compared with those with extra responsibilities.

On the other hand, many of those who disagree with this argument doubt the authenticity of such answers provided in the job applications. That is, job applicants tend to make up some hobbies and interests just to impress the employers. According to a survey conducted by a student group from the London School of Economics, only 40% of the respondents of a survey gave genuine answers when asked about their extracurricular interests. Besides, personal preferences ought to be kept private as it can lead to bias and discrimination during the hiring. For instance, many married female medical practitioners report they were filtered during the hiring process in hospitals as employees automatically presumed them unsuitable or unavailable for night-shifts or working around the clock in an emergency crisis due to their marital commitments.

On balance, Although the availability of personnel’s personal information can lead to bias, I believe the positive impacts associated with an employer’s awareness of a staff’s hobby and interests outweigh any negligible disadvantage.