English as a global language

It is undeniable that English becomes more and more well-known on over the world. Though there are several negative impacts regarding this trend, I do believe that the positive aspects of the popularity of English are more noticeable. This essay will first demonstrate that the culture will be affected by Western culture becoming a worrying trend, followed by a discussion on how the universal language helps people in many aspects of life.

One obvious drawback can be seen when English is considered as a global language is other cultures will be impacted. Owing to having a strong influence, Western culture is increasing worldwide. Youngsters; nowadays, lacking interest in their traditional ceremonies or customs is a clear example of this tendency. On the other hand, this is a worrying trend related to language is the medium through which it is passed on to future generations.

However, those aforementioned disadvantages can be overshadowed by the pros of this universal language are helpful in some aspects. Today, many people travel around the world for many purposes such as for leisure, vacation, business, or medical treatment, and when you are in other countries with their own languages, you need to know the common language to serve your purposes. As a result, English comes to an aid to give a hand for you to make your two-way communications happen successfully. Thanks to the common language, you are able to adapt to a new environment relatively simply; even more, providing you with many chances to seek a better job, make friends easily, or discover anything about the cultures of other countries straightforwardly. Additionally, English also builds a communication bridge among people from different cultures and nationalities. For example, if you travel to Viet Nam, in the case that you do not how to speak Vietnamese, you can use English instead to help you communicate with others due to English is a popular language so many people know it.

Overall, these are positive aspects of a common language because having it can open more and more opportunities to change your life. Therefore, the earlier you learn it, the faster you can master it and have a better life in studying or even future business.

As it can be concluded that the disadvantages of the impact on other cultural traditions in some nations when English becomes a global language may seem quite minuscule when compared to the advantages. Individuals have to filter the cultural knowledge they have known because of the popularity of English to protect their own traditions while considering the global language as a chance for them to get a bright future.