Environmental problems are serious in many countries. It means that the only possible way to protect the environment is at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As human civilization advances, we encounter one of the most challenging problems ever witnessed in the history of humankind, the deterioration of the environment. The environmental degradation on a global scale has formed a widespread agreement that only cooperation among countries can be useful in improving the situation. In my opinion, I agree entirely with this view.

The primary rationale that calls for international effort in tackling environmental worsening is rooted in the world is built on the interdependence of ecosystems. Comprehensive knowledge is that people live in a global environment, share natural resources, and survive on the same biosphere. Any country's actions on the environment are bound to bring ramifications not only on itself but also neighboring countries. For example, in 2014, severe smog triggered by forest fires in Indonesia has polluted Singaporean air at record levels, affecting millions of residents.

Furthermore, only through concerted effort can the international community optimize resources invested in environmental protection. Some global issues such as global warming, air, and water pollution and the loss of biodiversity require government intervention. These issues are so enormous that there is simply no way to adequately address these problems without strong commitments from the governments of different countries. The Kyoto protocol, which was adopted in 1997 with the participation of 84 different countries to put a restriction on greenhouse-gas emissions, is an excellent example of how important international cooperation is in dealing with environmental issues. Nowadays, this protocol continues to have a world-wide effect on protecting nature.

In conclusion, cooperation between countries is inevitable in this global campaign, not only because the ecosystem is a unified mechanism but also because international engagement can make optimal use of financial and human resources. By collaborating, countries are able to protect the global environment with the least amount of resources.