Just as machines consists of tiny nuts and components, companies are made up of individuals, teams or sections, all of whom in return contribute their parts to the prosperity and future of companies. Considering this, leaders of all companies should work out various methods to maximum the productivity of their staff. Several viable ways as follows might help to serve for this purpose.

First, treat them as equals. The structure of a company is similar to a pyramid, which is wide on the foot while narrow on the top. Though senior staff play a leading role in bringing in more business and profits, we can not overlook the hard working of inferior staff, including those who clean the toilets, copy and type, or work as drivers. For example, the boss can take the lead in greeting them whenever they meet in the lifter, inquiring about their families and inviting them to cups of drinking in spare time. Only in this way, can they feel respected and part of the whole team. Such spiritual incentive sometimes works better than mere bonus money.

I do not deny the importance of bonus, which is indeed a straightforward method to encourage the staff. Employees need to be rewarded whenever they propose good ideas to the companies to save the operating costs or to improve the efficiency. Wise bosses should understand that without employees’ golden ideas or industrious efforts, sales target is nothing but a moon in the water, not to mention growing bigger. So, some small money paid to your staff out of one pocket might win back pouches of gold at last. A good bargaining, right?

I believe smart bosses will share my view above. Now it is high time they did.