In many countries, young people are granted certain privileges and responsibilities at the age of sixteen. Clearly parents have a responsibility to both care for and prepare their children as they approach this important milestone.

To what degree should parents intervene in the lives of their 14-15 year-old children?

16 year ago is a crucial watershed in people’s growth, after which children are regarded as adults in many countries. Parents are always frustrated when they ponder on whether and how they should step in to help their children tide over this transient period. If I am asked, I personally recommend that parents should intervene but keep more room for children’s own choice.

Firstly, it is our common sense that people can only learn swimming when they physically are in the water. Likewise, when children are confronted to the real society to live as individuals, they are supposed to make their own choices based on their own assumption, prediction and assessment. Whereas, parents should play a role as consultants and advisors as they are more sophisticated in social experience than 14-15 year old children. Similar to swimming, it is the children who should do the practice, while parents need to accompany closely to give instructions.

Secondly, in case problems or failures occur when things develop off the track. Parents are required to step in and help to work out solutions to the problems. As parents are our first teachers, they are for good as well. A family meeting is recommended to size up the situation and figure out possible redemptive measures for the adults-to-be. Both parties can contribute their thoughts during the discussion while priority should be given to the ideas of the children. There is a saying that Success is obtained from experience, while experience derives from failures. Smart parents know how to lead their 14-15 old children out of the swamp and encourage them to face up against any difficulties so that their children are able to live better and more independent lives later.

In conclusion, parents always play crucial roles in the growth of their children, especially at the critical moment when their children are at the threshold of 16-year-old. A good guidance from the parents can help the adults-to-be tide over the “birth pain” successfully. This is inborn responsibility of parents as well.