Nowadays many people go shopping in their free time. Shopping has replaced many other activities that people used to choose as their hobby. what is the reason for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

The contemporary epoch is witnessing a sudden burgeon in the activity of shopping conducted by people, and even some avocations of individuals are being substituted by this interest. Many causative factors can be attributed to this phenomenon, such as incline in personal wealth of people and the desire to exalt the social status. However, I opine that this is an unpropitious development, especially for environment.

Why the trend of shopping is augmenting at an alarming rate? The chief unequivocal ground can be accredited to the fact that the living standard of dwellers is amplifying in contemporary time vis-a-vis past, owing to which people now have more surplus money at their disposal. Further, denizens are bombarded with the endorsements of distinct products throughout their daily routine, either in the way of digital advertisements or via the large billboards or other tangible sources. Ergo, persons, being enticed with these adverts and having spare capital to squander, tend to splurge on redundant items. This can be illustrated by the study conducted by Stanford University in 2018 wherein researchers have discovered that average income of persons has increased threefold just over the last five decades. Hence, the trend of shopping is on the rise.

Howbeit, this phenomenon has plethora of repercussions. The most prominent impact is on the environmental condition. As the import and export of the products is elevating, it is causing various direct as well as indirect impacts on the ecology in the form of escalating pollution and afflictions on the fauna and flora. Most of the new items are packaged in the plastic wrappers and polythene bags which are the key sources of land and marine pollutions as these are non- biodegradable. Because of these, the fertility of the land is declining as well as the marine species are perishing. For instance, conferring to the official figures revealed by the Ecological Department of India, around 60 percent of populace of marine fauna has become extinct due to the over usage of polythene.

Laconically, surge in the availability of advertisements and the earnings of the people are the eminent causative factors behind this phenomenon which has significant unfavourable effect on the ecosystem. Hence, the government should take some initiatives to mitigate these ramifications.