Nowadays many people go shopping in their free time. Shopping has replaced many other activities that people used to choose as their hobby. Do you agree or disagree?

What are the reasons for this?

It has been widely observed by many experts that people have adopted shopping as their pastime activity over many other activities. If asked, I completely agree with this point and this might be because of the effect of urbanization on people from every corner of the world. Here, I would like to discuss some of the possible reasons behind the development of this new habit.

Although wandering in market places could be fun, it has been seen that people’s shopping habits are being profoundly influenced by their favourite and popular celebrities, politicians, or athletes advertising products on social media and television. As compared to the previous century, people are now using more technology and social media to follow recent trends and brands. This has made shopping a great hobby in general because it can be considered a major way to join the bandwagon. (143words)

Urbanization and technology have risen, so people have more free time on hand (available). For instance, the use of electronics has reduced the time of working at home and workplace, both of which have increased the shopping habit of people. Moreover, advertisement strategies have allured people to shop unwanted things. In addition to that, flaunting expensive products has become a status of a certain category of people like youngsters and affluent ones. So, to maintain the status quo among their peers, people often spend time shopping instead of engaging in some leisure activities such as reading, writing, or playing outdoor games.

In conclusion, shopping is an activity which is mushrooming and that might be the side effect of celebrity endorsement which is typical of social media platforms. Nowadays, people tend to spend their time walking in attractive malls and shopping centers to buy trendy goods instead of other useful pursuits.