Even though doctors advice old people to get more exercise, many old people do not get enough. What are the reasons for this and what are some possible solutions for this.

Considering the deterioration of health in old people, doctors frequently advice them to do some physical activities, but the majority of aged people do not exercise regularly. There are many reasons for this. Some of the reasons are discussed in the following passages along with their solutions.

Undoubtedly, as people grow old, their overall health starts to degrade. Due to this reason, it becomes necessary to take proper care of one’s health. With age, the body tends to loose muscle mass and the working efficiency of all the internal organs, such as heart, liver, kidneys etcetera, is reduced. Due to this, doctors advice old persons to do regular exercise. One of the main reasons for this is that due to old age, people are not able to maintain the level of energy which is required for regular physical exertion. So, they tend to sit in their homes in comfortable chairs and beds. To resolve this problem, special nutrient rich diet can be prescribed for aged people, so that they can maintain sufficient energy levels to do proper exercises.

One other major reason due to which old people do not get enough exercise is the lack of proper infrastructure. Lack of parks and open fields in the urban regions also contribute to this problem. Most of the time it is difficult to do exercises at home, as in urban regions, the average home size is quite small and not enough to do physical exercise. Due to this people tend to visit parks to do such physical activities. The absence of such parks nearby, can also contribute to old people not doing enough exercises because they cannot travel long distances to visit some park to do their exercises. It is the duty of governments to build multiple parks and gardens in the residential areas, so that people especially aged people can do physical activities such as walking, jogging, yoga etcetera to remain healthy.

Conclusively, people of age cannot do necessary physical exercises majorly due to lack to energy and infrastructure. These issues can be resolved by giving them energy rich diet and building proper infrastructure such as parks and gardens where they can do such activities.