Today, more and more people use robots to do tasks at home and at work. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Why?

Considering the current technological advancements, robots are being used more frequently for doing activities which in the past were done by hand. I believe that doing various jobs and activities at home as well as at work with the help of machines have its positives and negatives. The reason for my opinion has been discussed in the following passages.

Undoubtedly, employing robotics is more efficient and safer than doing certain tasks by hand. For example, using robots in hazardous environments such as mines is safer rather than using manual labour force for mining operations. Moreover, machines can work continuously without stopping for rest as they do not get tired and therefore, can get more work done in the same amount of time without any danger to human life. Due to these reasons in certain scenarios where there may be some danger to life, machines are a more sensible option than employing people in those situations.

However, use of robots and machines also has numerous demerits. Dependance on robots is slowly killing the livelihood of a lot of skilled and un-skilled labour. In the past, almost all the accessories and tools which people use in their day to day life, were produced by skilled workers and various other mundane tasks were done by un-skilled labour. But nowadays, almost everything is being manufactured with the help of robots and there is a machine for almost every simple task which people perform in their daily routine such as cleaning robots for cleaning homes and offices, machines for washing laundry etcetera. This situation has resulted in ending numerous skilled and un-skilled jobs around the world. The use of machines for performing day to day tasks has also resulted in making people lazier.

Conclusively, the use of robots has its advantages in being more productive and safer along with demerits such as ending a number of skilled and un-skilled jobs and making people lazy.