Language is the verbal expression of culture, contemporary society has lost its diversity of languages over the past few decades. Some believe this to be a positive development, as one universally accepted language would make life easier. I however disagree with the former notion, the below essay will delve in opinion.

To embark on, language has always played a pivotal role within the society, it is indispensable part of it. However, in the recent decades we can notice a deterioration in language diversity, many important languages have been long forgotten by us. As one language has been dominating over the several many, English is considered as the 'Lingua franca' in many countries. It is indubitably convenient as u can survive in any part of the globe by knowing a single language, furthermore, fewer language could bring countries closer as they can abolish the barrier of language difference to better convey themself. For instance, India has one of the most highest English speaking people, thereby, they have better relationships with western countries. whereas china who has the least number of English speaking people, has always struggled to maintain good relationships with other countries.

On the other hand, loosing languages could result in a plane boring world with not cultural diversity whatsoever. Subsequently, people lose the motive to travel, explore as they experience the same languages where ever they travel too. With fewer languages being used, people tend to forget their own culture as language is the verbal expression of once own culture. For instance, India is renowned for its vast cultural diversity, However, due to English being more commonly used it is painfully noticeable the deterioration of cultural diversity. It is pivotal that we hold on to our ancestral beliefs, our culture is imperative to our individuality.

Furthermore, every language has its own uniqueness, and there is a lot that we can learn from it. For example, Sanskrit a long forgotten language, many of the modern languages are derived from Sanskrit. Moreover, old and famous literature's are all written in this language, exemplifying its importance.

To conclude, there are myriad advantages of having a universally spoken language, however, in my believe the pure essence of language diversity should not be forgotten and left behind.