Every year several languages die out. Some people think that it is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many languages in the world have been disappearing year after year, especially ethical communities in small islands or remote areas. Some people believe this phenomenon will not have a great impact on our society, besides, the fewer languages we speak, the simpler life we live. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement, but sometimes it is not a perfect world we are imagining.

The fewer languages we speak, the more benefits come to our living world. The first advantage is that the connection between countries and people who speak different languages will be strengthened if we understand and use the same language. For example, the EU, which consists of more than 20 countries, and each one has its own language, however, English is chosen to become a community language. Moreover, if people use the same language, the economic and social barriers will be broken, there are more job opportunities for workers and exchange students. Books and education systems will develop significantly and save our national budget.

In contrast to the statement, those minus communities and their languages play a crucial role in diversifying our world with special identities. If a language vanishes, the whole nation will become extinct forever because it will lose its distinctive features as well as culture. Like the Champa Kingdom in the south of Vietnam, their architect and construction knowledge had disappeared and left great unanswered questions.

In conclusion, the fewer languages we speak will be an advantage for society and economic development, but somehow its extinction will be an important loss for our life.