Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning foreign languages has become a popular trend recently, in some countries, it is a compulsory lesson at school and a standard before graduation. The dispute between some experts who believe that the beginning lessons are better for primary students while others think to start learning foreign languages at secondary school. In my opinion, each solution contains both advantages and disadvantages for children.

There are several benefits when children approach a new language at an early age at primary school. For the young children from age 4 to 10, it is a precious period to notice and gain new knowledge about the world, and their brain has developed strongly, therefore, they easily learn a new language like how they learn their mother tongue. In addition, parents and school don’t put any pressure on their children, so the lessons are transformed into songs, games, or plays, which does not only helps students remember vocabulary but also makes it fun and relaxing. In some special situations, genius students who have an up and coming future, foreign languages such as English skills will contribute to making the first impression whenever they enter a reputed high school or university.

On the other hand, a group of people considers secondary school is a better place for learning languages because of some disadvantages when starting too early. Primary students are too young to make a balance between studying their mother tongue and other languages. Moreover, the distraction can be anticipated if their schedule is full and they can not focus on other subjects, leading to a lack of rudimentary knowledge and bad results at school.

In conclusion, studying other languages is important when starting at the early stage with many helpful advantages. These outweigh the harmful effects, however, parents, schools, and individuals should diminish the disadvantages to their children.