Many people believe that young children should learn a foreign language at a younger age which means they should study it in primary school instead of secondary school. Although this idea is reasonable for some reasons such as they can easily to proficient with new languages at an early age, I do believe that this can do more harm than good.

On the one hand, studying a new language in primary school is beneficial to some extent. First and foremost, it is scientifically proven that children's brain at the age of 5 to 10 is hardwired to pick up a new language, thus if children learn languages at this time, they are likely to be proficient with languages quickly. Moreover, as they are young, they will be less self-conscious or shy so they will be confident to speak and don't afraid of making mistakes which is a crucial factor that leads to success in speaking languages.

However, I am of the opinion that this idea is associated with many detrimental effects on children's development. This is because children have to learn a lot of mandatory subjects at school such as maths, and literature thereby forcing them to learn more languages will give additional burden on children. In the long run, this may lead to depression and anxiety in children which affect negatively children's mental health. In addition, at this time, children have to learn their mother tongue to communicate with people around so learning more languages will make them bewildered and cannot be good at any language.

In conclusion, while it seems to me that learning new languages at an early young age is a prospective approach due to the children's ability to access languages, I hold a belief that they should not study too soon as it results in worse metal health problems.