Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an increasing trend in extinction of languages every year in the present context. Some people opine that it is simpler with minimum languages. I personally strongly disagree with the given context. This essay will shed the lights on importance of languages to human civilization.

Primarily, languages are the means of communication and more importantly they reflect the identity of specific culture, tradition and lifestyle. The language helps us distinguish someone of ones kind in the crowed world, both geographically and psychologically. These are the true reflection of cultural diversity. According to the report BBC Nepal, Nepal altogether possesses more than 80 indigenous languages of which 20 languages are in the verse of extinction. In this regards, youths are being conscious to protect their languages through organizations of various cultural functions.

Secondly, the languages are also the connecting link between the past and the present living. The variation in languages among the community depicts a clear picture of the ancient lifestyle and are considered to be the greatest source for anthropologists. Today, the human civilization has come far beyond, but still the call for history is a result of the languages which are prevalent till date. Likewise, many of the scientific advancement at present are the result of ancient writing. This can be clearly depicted by the ancient <i>beda</i>, which were written in Sanskrit and explains the path to successful living and a secret to scientific inventions.

In contrast, the fewer languages in the world in no way make the living easier. The monolingual society with no differentiation among themselves in terms of origin or culture would heavily confuse and lead to conflict. Also this would be no easier in terms of acclimatization, a hurdle among the existence of language, since the language to follow would surely be perceived to be superior.

To sum up, languages are connecting link between the past and future in addition to the precursor of development and discipline of living.