Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, the number of endangered languages worldwide has increased dramatically. Some claim that these losses will lead to convenience in communication while the opponents , especially the linguists, predict that the extinct of languages will cause an irretrievable loss. As far as I am concerned, I argued that the preservation of languages is of tremendous importance to our human civilizations.

To begin with, the death of a particular language would definitely entail losses of valuable cultural heritage of certain areas. In fact, languages are more than collections or combinations of lexical words. The are vividly living carriers that convey the connection and associations of beliefs, doctrines and customs passing on from generation to generation of cultures. And the extinct of languages is a major factor leading to degradation of cultures and disappearance of traditional values.

What’s more, if we look at this question in another perspective, language distinction is giving us a shelter from the side-effect of the process of globalization. Most people who support the language extinction argued that language distinction is the barrier of communication keeping people coupling with each other. But there are always some vulnerable groups losing their jobs facing the competition of the enormous global market. So, languages give us a protection for the people who are not qualified to face these challenges. For example, it’s not very easy for a person who is not able to communicate in Chinese to find a job in China, which means there is less competition for Chinese people to get a job.

In conclusion, it is of great essence that the extinction of certain languages causes enormous loss and threat to human society and culture. Maybe we are powerless to stop the trend of globalization but for the greater sake of our interests and culture, we should keep the diversity of languages.