Everybody today should pay a small amount from their income in order to help people who are homeless and / or suffering great poverty. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

The importance of charity which is always debatable has now become more controversial with many people claiming to donate a small amount of everyone's income for the upliftment of needy people. I espouse the notion of not welcoming the statement, elucidating with apt examples.

There are multiparous reasons for my outlook. The most prominent is providing financial assistance would make those people lazy, as they be getting aid without doing some work. Apart from it, the aids may be used for wrong purposes. For example, the money may be used in bad habits like chewing tobacco, smoking, gambling, etcetera. To justify my standpoint, if poor people receives monetary benefits it will restrict their frontiers of development. The government have already levied hefty taxes on citizens and therefore should frame policies to utilize those funds.

The best way to enlighten their lives would be by opening top-notch educational institutions, so that they can earn their bread and butter through education. People can contribute for the basic necessity of life. Aid need not be monetary, it can be in the form of leftover food, old garments, books, etcetera. In addition, employment opportunities are essential to make them stand on two feet.

Taking everything into account, I would reiterate my opine that instead of people offering a small proportion of their earnings. Although government have to allocate their funds in different sectors, yet they prioritize on enacting better policies for the homeless in order to move the people from the state of dependent to independent and sustainable livelihood.