People in all modern societies use drugs, but today’s youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern era a large chunk of population consumes a significant quantity of drugs. Young children intakes both legal and illegal drugs. There are ample of reasons behind this behavior, but few sociologists blame the elders for the same. Some causes and effects of substance abuse are discussed in the forthcoming paragraph.

The foremost reason is elders are addicted to narcotics in order to cope up with the stress and increasing workload, thereby using it to lighten themselves. For an instance, parents are doing drugs to get rid of post-traumatic stress work. Their children imitate and in cultivate these habits as they consider parents to be their ideals. Secondly numerous celebrities are filmed taking drugs, and the youngsters blindly follow them, neglecting the delirious effects like altered sensorial, anxiety disorders, psychosomatic ailments, insomnia, drowsiness, etcetera. A section of society especially males use numerous drugs nowadays to build their bodies and to look heroic. Lastly numerous sports personalities inject narcotics into their bodies to enhance their efficiency and performance, hence keeping apart one's sportsmanship. For example Maria Sharapova a versatile tennis star consumed selenium which tarnished her reputation. Moreover, she faced anti doping ban for short span of time.

As incidents of substance abuse are increasing at an alarming rate, it is the need of an hour to curb this ailment for the betterment of mankind.

In a nutshell, I would recommend enacting laws and produce statutory regulating bodies to restrict smuggling and its illegal consumption. Public awareness about the harmful effects can be organized by campaigns. Moreover, emphasis can be laid on educating the parents and elders. However if these steps implemented in appropriate directions can lead to significant drop in youth consuming drugs.