Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can
governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?
Humans are responsible for a variety of environmental problems, but we can also take steps
to reduce the damage that we are causing to the planet. This essay will discuss environmental
problems and the measures that governments and individuals can take to address these
problems.
Two of the biggest threats to the environment are air pollution and waste. Gas emissions from
factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles lead to global warming, which may have a
devastating effect on the planet in the future. As the human population increases, we are also
producing ever greater quantities of waste, which contaminates the earth and pollutes rivers
and oceans.
Governments could certainly make more effort to reduce air pollution. They could introduce
laws to limit emissions from factories or to force companies to use renewable energy from
solar, wind or water power. They could also impose ‘green taxes’ on drivers and airline
companies. In this way, people would be encouraged to use public transport and to take fewer
flights abroad, therefore reducing emissions.
Individuals should also take responsibility for the impact they have on the environment. They
can take public transport rather than driving, choose products with less packaging, and recycle
as much as possible. Most supermarkets now provide reusable bags for shoppers as well as
‘banks’ for recycling glass, plastic and paper in their car parks. By reusing and recycling, we
can help to reduce waste.
In conclusion, both national governments and individuals must play their part in looking after
the environment.