Should you pay taxes that support universal education? This is a debatable topic. Many affluent families send their children to private schools for better facilities and teaching methods that enable a holistic development of a child. This trend has a sever impact on the working class families that aspire to provide the best for their wards. Many individuals pay taxes to support universal education that their children do not avail.

Undoubtedly, the lack of funds is the primary reason for the deplorable condition of government schools. Firstly, the lack of infrastructure, the money allocated is insufficient to build a good infrastructure. For example, in a country like India many schools do not have the basic amenities such as a library, a play ground, and classroom. Secondly, inadequate training for the teachers. For example, there is no specialized university in India for teachers that imparts an innovative and creative approach to teaching.

Interestingly, there is a surplus flow of money in private institutes. Firstly, the state of art infrastructure. For example, the National School has a robotics lab, a colossal library, and a huge football ground. Secondly, well trained and innovate teaching methods. For example, the teachers are trained to teach children with varied learning abilities. They receive special training to help children with special needs.

In conclusion, although the quality of education in private institutes are better, the lack of funds is the reason for the inefficiency in running a government school. Hence, taxes that support universal education is very crucial for a developing country like India where many people are impoverished. However, in my opinion, you must pay taxes only for the services that you would avail.