The family has a great influence on children’s development, but the influence outside the home plays a bigger part in children’s life. Do you agree or disagree?

It is no doubt to say that the young generation will soon become the pillar of society, thus, educating children plays a fundamental role in the development of a country. Regarding this subject, some people are concerned that the impacts of the external world might outweigh the function of the family. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this argument as I believe that children’s personalities and behavior are the reflections of their parents and it will be harder for them to pursue their dream without parental guidance.

To commence with, from birth through maturity, parents' behavior has a profound meaning in their children’s lives. In other words, children usually have the tendency to imitate their parent’s conduct since they are the closest people to their children. For instance, if a child is raised in an environment where their parents frequently argue, they are more likely to lose their temper and often cause conflict with others. As a result, the knowledge and experiences they gain from the outside world is still insufficient to alleviate the early consequences. This phenomenon is also the major reason for launching anti-social paths in children nowadays. In contrast, when children are raised by well-mannered parents, they will have more chances to have the same quality as their parents.

Furthermore, it is easier for a child to succeed when they can receive the proper guidance from their parents. During adolescence, many children fall into the disorientation stage, which makes them unable to determine their future careers. With the parent's guidance, they will have a clearer direction and have a more stable future. However, if their parents are conservative, it will be difficult for them to show their perspectives as well as pursuing their goals.

To sum up, external factors cannot be seen as superior towards parents' influence. In order to fully develop a child’s potential, parents need to be good role models and have an active attitude when it comes to children’s problems.