Fast food is now universally in most countries and is becoming increasingly popular.
Some feel that this is a positive trend, while others do not.
What are your opinions in this?
The past 50 years have seen a dramatic increase in the availability of fast food. Some laud its
convenience and relatively low cost; however, in this essay I intend to argue that this kind of food
is detrimental both to the individuals that consume it and to society at large. There are two
primary reasons for this.
First of all, it is an undeniable fact that consuming fast food to excess results in serious health
problems. Foods such as fried chicken, hamburgers and chips – which are incredibly high in fat and
salt are responsible for such ailments as high blood pressure, obesity and heart disease. Moreover,
although I certainly agree that fast food is both affordable and convenient, the cost and
inconvenience of treating the illnesses it causes in later life are significant. In other words, while
fast food is beneficial in the short term, its long-term effects are generally negative.
Further and even more importantly, though, some fast food chains deliberately attempt to attract
children in order to shape their future eating habits. One particularly good example of this is the
character Ronald McDonald the bright clothes and smile of the McDonalds clown are a beacon to
children. Having grown up eating in McDonalds restaurants, people are likely to continue eating
their throughout their adult lives. It is also interesting to note that McDonalds provides
playgrounds and frequently holds children’s birthday parties in order to attract young children and
their parents.