Few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries while the usage of others is rapidly declining Is this a positive or a negative development

In this day and age, some languages are widely spoken in a number of countries which is in stark contrast to the deterioration of some others. In my opinion, I believe that this trend has both positive and negative consequences.

On the one hand, universal languages bring many benefits to people both in terms of communication and business. In particular, the advent of common languages has facilitated communication to develop. Apparently, with a quarter of the world's population speaking English, language barrier, once considered a major obstacle, is no longer difficult to overcome. On an economic level, commonly spoken languages significantly promote international business. In other words, several languages can be considered international business languages. Therefore, it is easy for some countries to gain benefits from international economic cooperation through negotiation. For example, in main business offices in world financial centers such as the UK and USA, English has long been the default commercial language.

On the other hand, the decline in the number of speakers of other languages considerably impacts cultural diversity and communities. Firstly, language seems to be the soul of culture because it is a means of communication and exchanging customs among ethnicity. With each language that dies, humans lose a huge cultural legacy. In addition, this situation has prevented a group of people from connecting to the world. Particularly, speakers of less common languages appear to be isolated from the community. As a result, they tend to have trouble communicating because most people don't understand what they are saying.

To conclude, the dominance of several languages brings both advantages and disadvantages based on different situations. However, I insist that language users should strike a balance between using common languages and preserving less popular languages.