Fewer young people do farming work in rural areas. Why? Should young people be encouraged to do farming work?

It is true that today many fewer people, especially young people, work on the land than in the past. While some reasons can be put forward to explain this trend, I firmly believe that it is necessary to attract many more young people into farming.

There is one major reason why fewer young people are now engaged in agriculture. Advances in technology have completely revolutionised how food is produced. The traditional methods, which were labour-intensive, have become obsolete . Sophisticated agricultural machinery has replaced people, in a process which has increased in intensity over the years. Young people are today rarely seen on farms. Lacking job prospects, they were among the first to join the mass exodus to the cities.

However, I would argue that more young people are needed in farming today. Firstly, modern methods of farming are increasing environmental degradation and provoking an ecological crisis. Farming techniques, for example organic growing, which are environmentally-friendly are the only sustainable way to produce food, and these techniques require much more human labour. Secondly, when young people migrate to cities, they often cannot find work and experience a sense of alienation. They live in a concrete jungle without a feeling of community that they had in their rural villages. Finally, to help to alleviate environmental problems in the countryside today, young people should be encouraged to study agronomy and ecology. Applying their knowledge to sustainable farming, young people will be mentally stimulated and physically fit.

In conclusion, the use of technology in modern industrialised agriculture puts profit before people, but more young people in farming will result in the application of technology to achieve sustainable development. This gives them a vital role in the future of humanity.