The first car appearances on the British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 millionvehicles on the British roads

Alternative forms of transport must be encouraged and international laws should be introduced to control car ownership and use

To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Motorised vehicles, namely cars, first appeared on the British roads in the year 1888. Ever since then there have been estimated over 29 million cars in the year 2000 alone. Owing the problem of excessive cars, people have encouraged different modes of transport and hope to introduce international laws which control car ownership and usage. However, in my opinion, I believe that though cars have made our day to day lives easier, they have had a detrimental effect on the human health and the earth's environment.

With regards to the individual, the impact that the invention of cars clearly has its advantages. Firstly, people are able to travel long distances in a short period of time, without having to physically exert themselves. Secondly, it provides confront and shelter, from snow, rain and other climatic conditions, during journeys. Finally, the driver has control over the schedule of the journey as opposed to other models of transport.

On the other hand, the effects that cars have on the individual's health and earths environment can be seen as anything but advantageous. Rather than exercising while commuting by walking or cycling, people choose to drive. Consequently, they exercise less, this could lead in a plethora of health diseases( such as cardiac diseases and obesity). Moreover, cars convert fuel to carbon monoxide, which is a deadly air pollutant that can damage both the human health and the earth's atmosphere.

To conclude, although cars have made it easier to commute to work for the average person, they do not provide the daily exercise required by the people. They have had a similar effect in the environment by making it highly polluted. Hence, I believe that other alternatives must be explored and international laws and policies must be adopted for the usage and ownership of the cars.